“The first impression counts…”! Indeed, it’s not easy to question your first impression, but sometimes it is worth it. When we entered San Francisco the first time, we had a hard time liking it. It’s already dark when we arrive by train in the middle of the city. We had to give back our loved rental car. It was hard. UN-Plaza is the station we have to go out and the lights aren’t that bright, so we can barely see something. We turn around and even if we like dogs this one is very aggressive, he is barking at us. At least he is on a leash. His owner is a homeless and grinning at us. But it is not a welcome grinning, more like a “you shouldn’t be here at this time looking like tourists” grinning. Yes, that’s what we think. We don’t really know where to go but we know that we need to go somewhere else. Finally our orientation is back, it’s another three blocks straight. We are passing around 150 more homeless people lying on cartons, old mattresses or the cold concrete sleeping, discussing with each other, playing some music or taking drugs.

“we didn’t expect our first time with a city to be that…awkward”

“an unexpected and awkward ‘first time’ with this city”

 We didn’t expect our first impression with a new city to be that…awkward. 

Even in front of our hotel a few homeless people are waiting. Not for us, we hope. At least we are finally there and the lady from the reception explains us that we don’t have to be scared by them, it’s a part of San Francisco, it’s normal. Most of the people don’t do anything, just pass them she keeps telling us. She should be right. Anyway, every time Simone needs to go to the toilet, Tobias has to follow her until she is inside and locks the door (it is a shared toilet if somebody is wondering). Safety first.

On our first day we start walking to the north and end up at Union Square which turns out to be a huge shopping area. Simone feels in heaven and is just about to start shopping like a maniac – if she would be alone. First she keeps telling herself that Tobias is enjoying this as much as she does, but after a while it’s just too obvious that he is not 🙂 We are entering China Town, which is not hard recognizing since it has this special smell and you can buy those cheap souvenirs everywhere.

thumb_P8201585_1024

thumb_P8211779_1024

thumb_P8211781_1024

We are nearly reaching the famous and curvy Lombard Street, but first we want to eat breakfast at “Mama’s Café”. It is supposed to be a Insider tip for the best breakfast in town. At least that’s what we read on the Internet. But that’s the problem with the Internet, everyone can read it. And obviously some people did! In front of “Mama’s Café” there is a 40m line. Two cliché hippie women from San Francisco are laughing at the other side of the street. It’s just too funny observing all those stupid tourists waiting at least one hour to get in. But not only tourists, the women tell us that frequent visitors buy a coffee at Starbucks first to get some coffein while waiting. This is just too crazy! We decide to leave and get a breakfast at the recommend place from the hippie ladies.

thumb_P8211840_1024

The Lombard Street is very neat and a great tourist spot. A lot of them are driving as slow as possible down the curvy streets to take as many pictures and videos as possible!

thumb_P8191438_1024

thumb_P8191448_1024

thumb_P8191451_1024

thumb_P8191470_1024

Next stop is Fisherman’s Wharf at the harbor. From there you have a nice view to Alacatraz. The only prison in the U.S. where no cold water was allowed while showering. So that the prisoners couldn’t get used to it and be prepared when swimming through the cold Pacific during their escape. While Tobias is dreaming from the Hollywood movie The Rock where Sean Connery and Nicolas Cage are saving the city, Simone is wondering what the hell he is thinking about!

thumb_P8191500_1024

thumb_P8191492_1024

thumb_P8191498_1024

thumb_P8191506_1024

thumb_P8191516_1024

thumb_P8191518_1024

thumb_P8191521_1024

thumb_P8211766_1024

thumb_P8211768_1024

Finally at Pier 39, five young Breakdancer want to start with their show and therefor make some noise for the audience to come. A few buckets, a rope and a non working CD Player – that’s all they got for their show. But they still nail it. It’s hilarious – they get bro’s with the Afro-Americans, making fun of the serious Germans and their non existing feeling for music and rhythm and laughing at the Chinese people and the way they are taking pictures. We see many of talented artists located in this area who are trying to make some money with their passion and finally quit their boring jobs.

thumb_P8191512_1024

thumb_P8191515_1024

thumb_P8191523_1024

thumb_P8191528_1024

thumb_P8191531_1024

thumb_P8191533_1024

thumb_P8191541_1024

thumb_P8191553_1024

thumb_P8191555_1024

thumb_P8201559_1024

The sun is shining and we keep going along the harbor till we get to the baseball stadium of the local heroes: the San Francisco Giants. Unfortunately there are no games going on this week – which is a shame since Simone bought many Giants merchandising articles. But you can imagine the passion and atmosphere for this team when you look at all the boards, statues and read the stories of their heroes.

thumb_P8201580_1024

thumb_P8201574_1024

Seeing all the beautiful things of San Francisco we can’t stop thinking about all the homeless we meet during the day. We want to know why there are so many and start researching a bit. Obviously there are a few different reasons and theories.

  • The climate. A lot of the homeless are moving to the west coast because the winters are warmer than in the east. Maybe it is a legend, but they say that New York brings them in buses.
  • Compared to other cities in the US, the social system in San Francisco is much higher. Furthermore there are many private institutions that try to help the poor. That is true, the San Francisco residents do a lot and we even experience that once when a businessman buys a homeless man something to eat and drink.
  • San Francisco was and still is the main city of the hippies and not everyone recovered from their LSD trips in the 60ies.

America is not for everyone the “land of opportunity”. From the old mattress of a homeless in the center of the city until the house of a billionaire in Silicon Valley it is just about 39 miles or one hour driving. This big distance between the poor and rich is crazy to see in this modern world.

The next day we decide to rent a car – we got tired of walking around the whole day. We are lucky renting at Golden Gate Rides – Bike Rental (highly recommended!) because we are getting those brand new, ultra light sport bikes of Cannondale. The perfect way to cruise easy and comfortable to Alamo Square and to have a glimpse on the five famous painted ladies.

 

thumb_P8201600_1024

PAINTED LADIES

On our way to one of the hippest areas in town Haight Ashbury we pass the very first icecream shop of the famous “Ben & Jerrys“. Wow, this is history.

thumb_P8201613_1024

thumb_P8211791_1024

thumb_P8201630_1024

thumb_P8201617_1024

thumb_P8201623_1024

thumb_P8201635_1024

thumb_P8201622_1024

thumb_P8201620_1024

thumb_P8201634_1024

In one of these typical Hippie Cafés in this area we get the power for our big bike tour the next few hours. It starts in the recommended Golden Gate Park. But we don’t get it. People told us that we are going to see something similar to London’s Hyde Park or the Central Park in New York. They say it is even more fascinating. But not for us – at least we can’t find this thing which makes the park so special. It’s more the opposite. A lot of weird people again, nothing special, we don’t have the feeling that someone takes good care of the park. And which makes it even more annoying is this strong and icy wind we have to deal with. We already heard that the summer in San Francisco can be very uncomfortable, but we didn’t expect it to be that uncomfortable. But to concentrate on the good thing: the most exciting we find are all the old men being the happiest men in the world with battling each other with their radio controlled sailing boats!

thumb_P8201648_1024

thumb_P8201652_1024

thumb_P8201656_1024

thumb_P8201666_1024

We are reaching the west coast of the city which is the end of the park and from the city also. There you have an amazing view on the cold Pacific with its huge waves and the foggy atmosphere. We are riding our bikes from the Ocean Beach, passing Sutro Baths and finally reach the Golden Gate Bridge.

thumb_P8201674_1024

thumb_P8201686_1024

thumb_P8201691_1024

thumb_P8201694_1024

thumb_P8201697_1024

thumb_P8201702_1024

thumb_P8201710_1024

thumb_P8201711_1024

A very nice route for a city bike tour and a good workout as well. In the richer area Tobias is spotting a dark gray Lamborghini Diablo SV from 1995 which definitely makes his day. Simone is super excited as well – at least this is what Tobias is thinking.

There are many ways and perspectives to look at the legendary Golden Gate Bridge. It feels like we are seeing all of them. And of course we are crossing the bridge. Back and forth with this very strong wind which makes it hard to control your bike and not crash into one of the other tourists. Definitely something you will never forget!

 

thumb_P8211740_1024

thumb_P8211750_1024

thumb_P8211753_1024

thumb_P8211763_1024

thumb_P8211771_1024

thumb_P8211773_1024

San Francisco is full of hidden lovely places…and while we are happy being here and are amazed by all the details we see, we finally stop at the steepest street of the city: the Jones Street. We don’t know that until a nice lady in her 60ies comes and can’t believe what we are planning to do: driving all the way up. Tobias just ignores her – damn, he is used to the mountains living his whole life in South Tyrol and Simone gives up after – let’s say 30 seconds. Because she knows very soon: this is not gonna work. The nice lady offers her to help pushing the bike. Simone refuses. Maybe she can’t drive up the hill, but with 29 she should be able to push this bike by her own. But no chance, the lady helps her anyway…

Just so you know, Tobias didn’t make the whole way 🙂

thumb_IMG_5061_1024

Our third and unfortunately last day we do all the classics: the big shopping street, the Transamerica Pyramid, Financial District, Washington Square, little Italy with the famous Café Trieste where all the artists, directors, actors and musicians got to, to drink the best Espresso and to feel the inspiring atmosphere.

Francis Ford Coppola wrote parts of  “The Godfahter” in this Café.

thumb_P8211798_1024

thumb_P8211788_1024

We don’t want to leave the city without taking one of the famous cable cars, that’s why we decide jumping on one of that in the end.

thumb_P8191460_1024

And that’s it. There are so many different sides of San Francisco and for sure we haven’t seen all of them. You need to take your time for this city to fall in love with it. That’s the feeling we had. But now we know that we want to come back one day!

thumb_P8191432_1024

thumb_P8201590_1024

thumb_P8201594_1024

thumb_P8201607_1024

thumb_P8201633_1024

thumb_P8201673_1024

thumb_P8201716_1024

thumb_P8211795_1024

thumb_P8211801_1024

thumb_P8211821_1024

thumb_P8211825_1024

Because of a family emergency we had to interrupt our trip here. We skipped a few places and countries and now started again in Costa Rica!

Wie heißt es so schön: „Der erste Eindruck zählt“. In der Tat ist es oft nicht so einfach, seine Meinung zu ändern. Im Falle von San Francisco war das anfangs etwas schwer… mit dem Zug gelangen wir am späten Abend vom Flughafen in die Stadt. Unseren geliebten Mietwagen lassen wir nur ungern zurück. An der UN-Plaza steigen wir aus dem Untergrund nach oben, nur einige wenige Laternen spenden uns Licht. Wir drehen uns um und sofort bellt uns ein aggressiver Terrier an. Zum Glück ist er angeleint. Sein Herrchen bemerkt uns und grinst uns wissend an. Offensichtlich ist er ein Obdachloser. Wir gehen ein paar Meter weiter und orientieren uns – in welche Richtung müssen wir? Aha, quer über den Platz und drei Blocks weiter. Auf dem Weg begegnen wir mindestens 150 weiteren Obdachlosen, die auf Kartons, Matratzen oder dem blanken Beton schlafen, lauthals diskutieren, musizieren und teilweise Drogen konsumieren.

 Ein unerwarteter und ungewöhnlicher Einstieg für das „erste Mal“ mit einer Stadt.

Auch vor unserem Hotel nächtigen einige Obdachlose – die Rezeptionistin beruhigt uns aber und sagt, das gehöre zum Stadtbild von San Francisco einfach dazu. Die Leute wären nicht gewalttätig, sie würden uns bestimmt nichts tun oder uns belästigen. Sie sollte Recht behalten. Nichts desto trotz muss Tobias Simone jedes Mal bis zur Toilette (die sich am Ende des Flurs befindet) und wieder zurück begleiten. Sicher ist sicher.

An Tag 1 begeben wir uns Richtung Norden und schauen uns die Geschäfte rund um den Union Square an. Simone ist kurzzeitig im Shopping-Fieber, was Tobias innerliche Luftsprünge machen lässt. Er kann es zwar nicht zeigen, aber Simone ist sich sicher, dass er großen Spaß hat :-) Wir gelangen wenig später nach China Town, was schwer zu verkennen ist angesichts des Geruchs und der Billig-Souvenirs, die es im Überfluss zu kaufen gibt.

thumb_P8201585_1024

thumb_P8211779_1024

thumb_P8211781_1024

Kurz vor der berühmten, kurvigen Lombard Street stoßen wir auf „Mama’s Café“ – ein Insider Tipp aus dem Internet: hier soll es das beste Frühstück der Stadt geben. Offensichtlich hat der schwärmerische Artikel des Autors schon die Runde gemacht, denn vor dem Gebäude mit seiner gepflegten Fassade, tummelt sich eine 40m lange Menschenschlange. Amüsiert stehen zwei Hippie Damen aus San Francisco auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite und beschreiben uns ein gängiges Szenario: die wartende Kundschaft besorgt sich erstmal von Starbucks einen coffee-to-go, um mit dem nötigen Koffeinkick für die mindestens einstündige Wartezeit versorgt zu sein. Absurd!

thumb_P8211840_1024

Die Lombard Street ist sehr gepflegt und gut besucht, viele Touristen fahren oder besser gesagt schleichen hupend mit dem Auto die Serpentinen hinab.

thumb_P8191438_1024

thumb_P8191448_1024

thumb_P8191451_1024

thumb_P8191470_1024

Wir spazieren die steilen Straßen runter zum Hafen bis zum Fisherman’s Wharf. Von hier hat man einen guten Blick auf Alcatraz, in dem die Gefangenen als einzige in den USA ausschließlich mit warmen Wasser duschen konnten, damit sie sich auf einer eventuellen Flucht nicht an die eiskalten Fluten des Pazifiks gewöhnen würden. Vor unserem (oder besser Tobi’s) inneren Auge sehen wir Sean Connery und Nicolas Cage, wie sie im Hollywood-Blockbuster The Rock die Stadt retten!

thumb_P8191500_1024

thumb_P8191492_1024

thumb_P8191498_1024

thumb_P8191506_1024

thumb_P8191516_1024

thumb_P8191518_1024

thumb_P8191521_1024

thumb_P8211766_1024

thumb_P8211768_1024

Am Pier 39 werden wir von dem Geschrei fünf junger Breakdancer angezogen. Mit ein paar Plastikeimern, einem Seil und einem CD-Player mit Wackelkontakt begeistern sie über 100 Menschen mit ihrer Tanzshow, die definitiv großes Comedy Potenzial birgt. Sie verbrüdern sich mit den Afro-Amerikanern, machen sich über die Spießigkeit der Deutschen lustig, denen einfach das Rhythmusgefühl in der Hüfte fehlt und greifen die Fotowut der Asiaten auf. Viele talentierte Künstler versuchen entlang der Promenade ihr Glück um endlich ihre langweiligen Jobs an den Nagel hängen und stattdessen von ihrer Leidenschaft leben zu können.

thumb_P8191512_1024

thumb_P8191515_1024

thumb_P8191523_1024

thumb_P8191528_1024

thumb_P8191531_1024

thumb_P8191533_1024

thumb_P8191541_1024

thumb_P8191553_1024

thumb_P8191555_1024

thumb_P8201559_1024

Die Strandpromenade spazieren wir bei schönstem Sonnenschein weit runter bis zum Baseball-Stadion der San Francisco Giants. Leider gibt es in diesen Tagen kein Spiel (und dass, obwohl sich Simone extra noch mit den Giants Merchandising Artikeln ausgestattet hat), aber die Atmosphäre lässt sich durch die vielen Tafeln, Statuen und Heldengeschichten vor dem Stadion erahnen.

thumb_P8201580_1024

thumb_P8201574_1024

Die Bilder der übermäßig zahlreichen Obdachlosen, denen wir im Laufe des Tages begegnen, wollen uns nicht loslassen und wir fragen uns, warum das so ist.

  • Das milde Klima zieht viele Bedürftige an: angeblich werden viele Obdachlose von der Ostküste hierher verfrachtet, weil die Winter nicht so hart sind und die Chance zu überleben damit höher ist.
  • In San Francisco gibt es – mit anderen US Städten verglichen – höhere Sozialleistungen und zahlreiche private Initiativen, die viel Hilfe möglich machen. Ja, die Einwohner hier tun tatsächlich einiges und wir erleben das auch hautnah, als ein Geschäftsmann einem Obdachlosen, der in einem Restaurant Schutz sucht, Essen und Trinken ausgibt.
  • Und San Francisco ist/war natürlich die Hochburg der Hippies und nicht alle sind von ihrem LSD Trip von damals wieder runtergekommen.

Amerika ist gnadenlos und eben nicht für alle „das Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten“. Vom Schlafplatz eines Obdachlosen in der Mainstreet bis zum Millionär im Silicon Valley sind es nur 39 Meilen oder eine Autostunde. Hier zeigt die Schere zwischen Arm und Reich ihre hässlichste Fratze.

Am nächsten Tag haben wir genug vom Rumlatschen und satteln von zwei Beinen auf zwei Räder um. Beim Golden Gate Rides – Bike Rental (übrigens sehr zu empfehlen!) leihen wir uns nagelneue, sehr leichte Sporträder von Cannondale aus. Damit cruisen wir schnell und bequem zum Alamo Square, um die fünf bemalten Frauen anzuschauen.

thumb_P8201600_1024

PAINTED LADIES

Auf dem Weg ins hippe Viertel Haight Ashbury kommen wir zufällig am allerersten Eisladen von Ben & Jerrys“vorbei.

thumb_P8201613_1024

thumb_P8211791_1024

thumb_P8201630_1024

thumb_P8201617_1024

thumb_P8201623_1024

thumb_P8201635_1024

thumb_P8201622_1024

thumb_P8201620_1024

thumb_P8201634_1024

In einem vierteltypischen Hippie-Café, das uns empfohlen wird, holen wir uns die nötige Power für unsere bevorstehende große Radtour und radeln durch den leider etwas ungepflegten und unspektakulären Golden Gate Park: wir erwarten uns so was ähnliches wie den Hyde Park in London oder den Central Park in New York. Zumindest wurde er uns so angekündigt – sogar noch besser! Aber irgendwie können wir das gewisse Etwas nicht finden. Es ist einfach wenig los, außer ein eiskalter Wind, der uns um die Ohren pfeift! Wir haben ja schon von mehreren Seiten gehört, dass die Sommer in San Francisco ungemütlich sein können. Aber dieses raue Wetter hat uns dann doch überrascht. Das spannendste in dem Park sind noch die vier netten Opis, die mit ihren elektrisch gesteuerten Segelbooten eine Regatta veranstalten und ihr Rentner-Dasein in vollen Zügen genießen!

thumb_P8201648_1024

thumb_P8201652_1024

thumb_P8201656_1024

thumb_P8201666_1024

Im Westen kommt man an die äußerste Grenze – vom Park und von der Stadt. Hier hat man einen herrlichen Blick auf die Weiten des kalten Pazifiks. Raue Wellen, grauer Nebel: der Strand empfängt uns etwas düster und wir cruisen vom Ocean Beach, vorbei an den Sutro Baths, hoch bis zur Golden Gate Bridge.

thumb_P8201674_1024

thumb_P8201686_1024

thumb_P8201691_1024

thumb_P8201694_1024

thumb_P8201697_1024

thumb_P8201702_1024

thumb_P8201710_1024

thumb_P8201711_1024

Eine sehr schöne Route für einen Radausflug, einige Höhenmeter, viele Kilometer und ständig eine tolle Sicht aufs Meer. Kurzzeitig radeln wir auch durch ein wohlhabendes Villenviertel, in dem Tobias’ Weg von einem röhrenden, dunkelgrauen Lamborghini Diablo SV gekreuzt wird. Der 1995 gebaute Sportwagen lässt sein Herz höher schlagen und auch Simone macht innerliche Luftsprünge, auch wenn sie es sich nicht anmerken lassen will :-)

Es gibt mehrere Blickwinkel, von denen die legendäre Golden Gate Bridge beobachtet werden kann. Wir begutachten sie von allen Seiten und fahren natürlich auch – bei extrem starken Seitenwind – über die Brücke und wieder zurück. Ein Erlebnis, das man so schnell nicht vergisst!

thumb_P8211740_1024

thumb_P8211750_1024

thumb_P8211753_1024

thumb_P8211763_1024

thumb_P8211771_1024

thumb_P8211773_1024

Die Stadt hat viele versteckte kleine Perlen… und während wir so die Stadt erkunden landen wir plötzlich auf der angeblich steilsten Straße der Stadt: die Jones-Street. Zuerst müssen wir den „Berg“ hoch und wir radeln – besser gesagt Tobias radelt, Simone schiebt – keuchend nach oben. Eine nette Dame erklärt uns für verrückt: warum um alles in der Welt wir gerade diese Straße wählen und hilft Simone kurzerhand das Rad zu schieben. Die versucht noch es ihr auszureden, um sich ein kleines bisschen Würde zu bewahren. Aber nein, die freundliche Dame lässt sich ihr Vorhaben nicht ausreden. Irgendwann dreht auch Tobias Hinterrad durch und auch er muss absteigen. Da dachte er noch, dass er durch zahlreiche Mountainbike-Touren in den Südtiroler Bergen ausreichend gestählte Wadeln hätte… leider nicht!

thumb_IMG_5061_1024

Den dritten und letzten Tag in San Francisco nutzen wir, um ein paar Klassiker zu besuchen: Die Einkaufsmeilen, die Transamerica Pyramid und das italienische Viertel, in dem jede Laterne mit der Tricolore (die italienische Nationalflagge, grün-weiß-rot) bemalt und somit markiert ist. Wir kommen am Café Trieste vorbei, das der Treffpunkt vieler Künstler wie Regisseure, Schauspieler oder Musiker war, um den besten Espresso der Stadt zu schlürfen.

Angeblich hat Francis Ford Coppola viele Seiten seiner Drehbücher zu „Der Pate“ hier geschrieben.

thumb_P8211798_1024

thumb_P8211788_1024

Durch den Financial District laufen wir genauso wie am Union Square und Washington Square entlang. Zurück nehmen wir zum Abschluss eins der berühmten Cable Cars, damit wir SF nicht verlassen, ohne den Touri-Magnet schlechthin ausprobiert zu haben. Die Fahrer wissen ihre Passagiere mit kleinen Showeinlagen zu unterhalten und fahren brav die immer gleichen Strecken hoch und runter. Am Ende jeder Strecke wird der Stahlkoloss von Bahnwagen per Hand gewendet und weiter geht’s!

thumb_P8191460_1024

Fazit: San Francisco hat sehr viele Gesichter, man muss der Stadt Zeit geben und wahrscheinlich findet man auch nach vielen Monaten versteckte, interessante Spots, die einem auf den ersten Blick nicht auffallen. Wir kommen wieder!

thumb_P8191432_1024

thumb_P8201590_1024

thumb_P8201594_1024

thumb_P8201607_1024

thumb_P8201633_1024

thumb_P8201673_1024

thumb_P8201716_1024

thumb_P8211795_1024

thumb_P8211801_1024

thumb_P8211821_1024

thumb_P8211825_1024

Aus familiären Gründen unterbrechen wir die Reise an dieser Stelle, haben sie aber mittlerweile in Costa Rica wieder aufgenommen.