Visiting Yellowstone Nationalpark we decided quite spontaneously – it hasn’t been on our Bucketlist at first, but as we met Brentley from Vancouver („…there I saw the weirdest things in my life“) we knew, we need to go there. So we thought: “Oh well, we are quite near” (which is a lie, because there isn’t a word like “near” existing in the U.S.) and we really don’t want to miss this piece of nature. So instead of driving along the coast from Seattle to San Francisco, which we are pretty sure is very nice (but there is one thing you learn while traveling for sure: there is no way to see and do everything – it’s just not gonna happen), we make the trip to Yellowstone Nationalpark in Wyoming. Including the hours we need to drive to San Francisco equals this very little number of 2.697 km – but no problem for us, because we loooove roadtrips! And what do you need for the perfect roadtrip? A nice car. And since we are in the U.S., we decide to take one of these typical American cars: a Jeep Grand Cherokee. The nice lady from Alamo, the car rental station we booked at, gave us a special price after negotiating for… wait, 2 minutes. 70$ more for the next car level sounds like a good deal to us. And hey, sometimes you just need to waste money as a real backpacker :) At least, Tobias as a car enthusiast is more than happy and Simone, well, she is fine with it.

thumb_P8150933_1024

thumb_P8150930_1024

Driving through the United States you get a feeling for this huge country the first time. Hours and hours you are driving straight on the same road and you are passing different kinds of vegetation and all of a sudden you know why the Americans always think like “big, bigger, biggest”.

There is nothing like having NOT enough space!

Somewhere, in the middle of nowhere, we are suddenly in Butte (which is in Montana and is pronounced “Biu” – why the hell? It doesn’t make sense to us). It is our first stop and except of this huuuuge breakfast we had the next morning there is nothing else to mention. I’m sure, if you would ask somebody from Biu he/she would see it differently. But back to the breakfast: we ate the hugest pancakes in our lives, served with a wheelbarrow full of maple syrup and a big cup of cream. The “fitness plate” Tobias ordered had like a kilo of potatoes, 10 pairs of sausages and a grid of eggs. This whole meal was probably intended for a small family and not a single person. Anyway, at least we don’t have to think about food this day!

Then, we finally made it: we are entering the Yellowstone Nationalpark. For 50$ per car we are allowed to stay seven days in Yellowstone as well as in Teton Nationalpark, which is next to Yellowstone.

Yellowstone is again: huuuuge and without a car it would be impossible to see everything (like anywhere else in the U.S. – there doesn’t really exist a public train or bus system) – except of some hiking tours there is nothing in walking distance. The speed limit is 45mph, which seems super lame, BUT…

…the statistics say that every day a car hits an animal…

…and all of a sudden the speed limit makes sense. You really don’t want to hit a bison, elk, bear or something similar which rans out of the forest – no big jeep would ever resist such a bounce. So what are we doing? We just follow the rule of 45mph and be aware of everything we might see in the forest. Which we are anyway, because if Tobias doesn’t see a bear in Yellowstone he is probably freaking out!

In the year of 1872 the park became the first nationalpark in the world nominated from the U.S. congress and also a role model for many other parks in the world. With nearly 9.000 square metres (nearly as big as Korsika) Yellowstone is one of the biggest parks of the U.S. and is everywhere at least 2000m above sea level. Latest when it is getting dark you know that the park is situated in the Rocky Mountains – it’s getting freezing cold, even in summer. Although we had all our clothes on we could find in our backpacks, we still felt cold in our basic wooden cabin.

thumb_P8161124_1024

We come across the West Entrance and that’s where we start our tour. There are two big roads which are installed in circles and with some side roads every now and then. They connect all the important spots together. There is now way to miss anything. In the eastern part of the park you can most oft he stunning wildlife, in the western part there is more of the spectacular volcanic landscape. Nowhere else in the world there is such a big amount of active geysers.

You feel like back in the days when dinosaurs and Co. were living…

There is steam, smoke, bubbles and sometimes it’s getting really loud. Like cooking potatoes or something similar. But it’s just impossible to describe this scenery, you need to experience that yourself!

thumb_P8151040_1024

thumb_P8151045_1024

thumb_P8151034_1024

thumb_P8151028_1024

thumb_P8151025_1024

thumb_P8150999_1024

thumb_P8150989_1024

thumb_P8150982_1024

thumb_P8150980_1024

thumb_P8150972_1024

thumb_P8150967_1024

thumb_P8150963_1024

thumb_P8150959_1024

thumb_P8150950_1024
thumb_P8161113_1024

thumb_P8161108_1024

thumb_P8161100_1024

thumb_P8161101_1024

thumb_P8151073_1024

thumb_P8161089_1024

thumb_P8151072_1024

thumb_P8151069_1024

thumb_P8151066_1024

thumb_P8151064_1024

thumb_P8151056_1024

thumb_P8151047_1024

You also need to experience the legendary geyser Old Faithful. Every 40 to 90 minutes it is erupting and the water fountain gets 30 to 50 metres high. Just incredible!

thumb_P8151017_1024

On different websites we read that it’s better to spot a bear in the evening. So we are waiting till it’s getting dark and all the visitors are inside of their motorhomes and cabins. Finally the streets are empty, we grab some beers and go bear hunting. We look for a good spot and start waiting there in our fancy jeep. It’s just a matter of time, the bear will come, we are pretty sure.

thumb_P8161132_1024

2 hours later, many hours after the sunset (you don’t even see your hand in front of your eyes) we are getting really tired and stop our very unsuccessful bear hunting. Sure, we are disappointed, but still full of hope for the next day. When we are back at our cold cabin, Tobias has this great idea (again) of “forgetting” something to eat in front of our cabin. Maybe a little, cute and fluffy bear is smelling it? But the owner of the campground already warned us: “There are some rangers looking around if really no one ‘forgot’ something to eat outside. And I swear you: they ALWAYS find the one who ‘forgot’ something”. Okay, this sounds serious. Tobias accepts that after a short reminder.

thumb_P8161129_1024

The next day we are driving along the eastern side of the park (Lamar Valley, Hayden Valley etc.) and after a few miles we already can see them: our first bisons! They are all over the place. Huge herds of bisons which are sleeping and eating right next to the street. And when they feel like it, they are just crossing the street, no matter if there are cars or not. If the grass is greener, they go for it! It honestly feels like “Jurassic Park”. The bisons are big, when they are walking one meter beside your car window. Although they look like if they are not interested in anything at all, they still scare you because you easily can imagine how strong they can be. Now we know for sure, that the car upgrade was more than worth it. What would have happened, if we would sit in a Ford Fiesta like we had in Canada? :)

thumb_P8161146_1024

thumb_P8161209_1024

thumb_P8161157_1024

thumb_P8161221_1024

thumb_P8161231_1024

We could watch those majestic and powerful animals forever, we feel humble and we don’t know why, but it’s relaxing at the same time. But we are still on a mission, and we didn’t complete it so far. So where ist the bear, fu§$&/( hell? Tons of bisons, elks, pronghorns, pelicans, eagles and geysirs, but no bear. But then we see a big amount of people. Something is going on here.

We stop the car and ask the people why everyone is staring at an empty field. First we think it is another bison, but not this time…it is a…wait for it…a bear!!!!!! But not this tiny, little blackbear, no, it’s the king of the bears…a grizzly!!! The ranger who tries to handle the people (some people still think that taking a selfie with a wild animal is a good idea) explains that the grizzly was chased by wolfs. That’s why he ran out of the forest and on the big, empty field without a place to hide. Bad for him, but good for us! But where exactly is the grizzly? Okay, we admit that it was hard seeing him without a telescope, it was more a little brown point wandering left and right. But some of the visitors had a special-telescope and were friendly enough to offer it us. For example the very nice, face-lifted family from Los Angeles. With their telescope we even were able to see his hair and his eyes: what an incredible feeling to see a grizzly in nature! After an hour staring constantly at the bear we finally are satisfied and drive back to our camp.

thumb_P8171346_1024

This was like the peak of the trip. We saw everything we wanted to see and so we are leaving Yellowstone Nationalpark after three days. This great experience we can highly recommend and everyone should go there if it’s possible.

thumb_P8161256_1024

thumb_P8161279_1024

thumb_P8161261_1024

thumb_P8161246_1024

thumb_P8161119_1024

And now we are heading back to the west coast. Next stop: San Francisco!!!

Den Besuch im Yellowstone Nationalpark haben wir ganz spontan beschlossen – ursprünglich stand dieser nämlich nicht auf unserer Bucketlist, aber die schwärmerischen Erzählungen von Brentley („…there I saw the weirdest things in my life“) haben uns dann doch ins Grübeln gebracht. Wenn wir schon mal „in der Nähe“ sind (sofern man in den unendlichen Weiten Amerikas überhaupt von Nähe sprechen kann) wollen wir uns das Naturspektakel dann doch nicht entgehen lassen. Statt entlang der Küste von Seattle nach San Francisco zu fahren, was bestimmt auch wunderschön ist (aber eins lernt man beim Reisen wirklich schnell: alles kann man einfach nicht sehen und machen), machen wir den Abstecher zum Yellowstone Nationalpark im Bundesstaat Wyoming. Das sind inklusive der Fahrt nach San Francisco geschmeidige 2.697 km – kein Problem, wir lieeeben Roadtrips! Wie es sich für einen ordentlichen Roadtrip gehört, gönnen wir uns ein passendes Mietauto. Wenn, dann fährt man so eine Strecke standesgemäß in einem großen amerikanischen Auto: in einem Jeep Grand Cherokee. Innerhalb von zwei Minuten ist die freundliche Dame der Autovermietung bei unseren Verhandlungen auf die Hälfte des Preises gesunken. 70$ Aufpreis für einen doppelt so großen Wagen klingt nach einem guten Deal! Tobias ist glücklich und Simone nimmt es zur Kenntnis :-)

thumb_P8150933_1024

thumb_P8150930_1024

Man kann die Größe des Landes erst richtig fassen, wenn man sich auf die Straße begibt. Beim stundenlangen gerade ausfahren durch verschiedenste Vegetationen kann man sich plötzlich gut vorstellen, warum die Amerikaner in „big, bigger, biggest“ denken.

Platzprobleme gibt es hier definitiv nicht!

Irgendwo im Nirgendwo, nämlich in Butte (liegt im Bundesstaat Montana und die sprechen ihr Butte „Biu“ aus) machen wir unseren ersten Stopp. Bis auf das abartig große Frühstück am nächsten Morgen ist es aber ein nicht allzu erwähnenswertes Fleckchen Erde. Erwähnenswert sind allerdings die unfassbar riesigen Pancakes, die mit einem Schubkarren Ahornsirup und einem Becher Cream serviert werden. Auch der „Fitnessteller“ von Tobias mit einem Kilo Bratkartoffeln, 10 Paar Würstchen und einem Gitter Eier ist wohl für eine Kleinfamilie und nicht eine einzelne Person gedacht. Nun gut, für den Rest des Tages hatten wir essenstechnisch ausgesorgt!

Dann ist es endlich soweit und wir passieren den Eingang des Yellowstone Nationalparks. Für 50$ pro Auto dürfen wir uns sieben Tage im Yellowstone sowie im  angrenzenden Nationalpark Teton aufhalten.

Yellowstone ist rieeesig und ohne Auto wärst du verloren (wie fast überall in den USA) – zu Fuß sind diese Strecken nicht zu meistern (außer natürlich für ausgesuchte Wanderungen). Die Geschwindigkeitsbeschränkung liegt bei 45mph – kommt einem erst mal langsam vor, …

aber wenn man bedenkt, dass es jeden Tag zu einem
Zusammenstoß mit einem Tier kommt, …

macht das schon Sinn. Und ja, jederzeit könnte aus den Wäldern und Feldern ein Bison, Elch, Bär oder ähnliches auf die Straße laufen – und so einem Tier würde selbst unser fetter Jeep nicht standhalten. Also halten wir uns vorbildlich an die Geschwindigkeitsbegrenzung und sind wachsam. Das sind wir sowieso, denn wenn Tobias im Yellowstone Nationalpark auch wieder keinen Bär sieht, dann dreht er wahrscheinlich noch durch!

1872 wurde der Park vom US-Kongress zum weltweit ersten Nationalpark gemacht und wurde somit Vorbild für viele andere Parks dieser Welt. Mit fast 9.000 Quadratkilometer Fläche (ca. die Größe von Korsika) zählt er zu den größten Parks der USA und liegt überall deutlich über 2.000 m über dem Meeresspiegel. Vor allem nachts merkt man, dass der Park in den Rocky Mountains liegt – es wird nämlich ziemlich kalt, auch im Sommer. In unserer rustikalen, unbeheizten Blockhütte haben wir trotz warmer Kleidung zum ersten Mal richtig gefroren.

thumb_P8161124_1024

Über den West Entrance kommen wir in den Park und starten auch schon unsere Tour. Es gibt zwei kreisförmige Straßen mit einigen Abzweigungen, die alle wichtigen Spots miteinander verbinden. So kann man sich nur schwer verfahren und vor allem nichts auslassen. Im östlichen Teil des Parks sieht man vor allem die atemberaubende Tierwelt und im westlichen Teil die nicht weniger spektakuläre Vulkanlandschaft. Nirgends sonst auf der Welt gibt es so eine dichte Ansiedlung von Geysiren.

Plötzlich fühlt man sich in die Zeit von Dinosauriern und Co. zurückversetzt …

… wenn sich diese Landschaft vor einem auftut. Es dampft und raucht, es blubbert und es ist teilweise richtig laut. Als würde man eben mit einem Dampfkochtopf Kartoffeln kochen. Aber das zu beschreiben ist nicht einfach, das muss man einfach gesehen haben!

thumb_P8151040_1024

thumb_P8151045_1024

thumb_P8151034_1024

thumb_P8151028_1024

thumb_P8151025_1024

thumb_P8150999_1024

thumb_P8150989_1024

thumb_P8150982_1024

thumb_P8150980_1024

thumb_P8150972_1024

thumb_P8150967_1024

thumb_P8150963_1024

thumb_P8150959_1024

thumb_P8150950_1024
thumb_P8161113_1024

thumb_P8161108_1024

thumb_P8161100_1024

thumb_P8161101_1024

thumb_P8151073_1024

thumb_P8161089_1024

thumb_P8151072_1024

thumb_P8151069_1024

thumb_P8151066_1024

thumb_P8151064_1024

thumb_P8151056_1024

thumb_P8151047_1024

Genauso, wie man den legendären Geysir Old Faithful gesehen haben muss, der alle 40-90 min ausbricht und Wasser zwischen 30 und 50m hoch spuckt.

thumb_P8151017_1024

In verschiedenen Foren lesen wir, dass man abends mehr Glück hat, einen Bären zu sehen. Dann, wenn es ruhiger geworden ist, sich die Besucher in ihre Motorhomes oder Hütten zurückgezogen haben und die Straßen leer sind, beschließen wir mit ein paar Bierchen bewaffnet auf „Bärenjagd“ zu gehen. Wir suchen uns einen guten Spot und warten ab. Irgendwann wird dann ja hoffentlich einer vorbei kommen.

thumb_P8161132_1024

Gesagt, getan… zwei Stunden später und lange nach dem Sonnenuntergang (man sieht noch nicht mal mehr seine eigene Hand in der Finsternis) brechen wir ab und fahren geknickt, aber voller Hoffnung für den nächsten Tag zurück zu unserem Campingplatz. Auch hier hatte Tobias die Idee etwas Essbares vor der Hütte zu „vergessen“, um ein kleines, süßes Bärchen anzulocken. Aber der Campingplatzbesitzer hat uns schon vorab gewarnt: „Hier laufen nachts Ranger das Gelände ab um zu überprüfen, ob auch wirklich nichts ‚vergessen’ wurde. Und glauben Sie mir: sie finden IMMER die schuldige Peron, die es liegen gelassen hat“. Okay, dann eben nicht.

thumb_P8161129_1024

Am nächsten Tag setzt sich das Naturspektakel fort – dieses Mal erkunden wir den Osten (Lamar Valley, Hayden Valley etc.). Und es dauert tatsächlich nicht lange, dann sehen wir schon unsere ersten Bisons. Sie sind praktisch überall. Riesige Herden, die nicht selten neben der Straße campieren und diese auch gerne mal überqueren, wenn sie auf der anderen Seite noch saftigeres Gras vermuten. So müssen sich die Menschen in „Jurassic Park“ gefühlt haben. Diese Bisons sind riesig und trotz ihres gelangweilten Blicks angsteinflößend, wenn sie einen Meter entfernt an deinem Autofenster vorbei marschieren! Spätestens jetzt hat sich das Auto-Upgrade ausgezahlt. Nicht auszudenken, wären wir, wie in Kanada, in einem Ford Fiesta gesessen 😉

thumb_P8161146_1024

thumb_P8161209_1024

thumb_P8161157_1024

thumb_P8161221_1024

thumb_P8161231_1024

Man könnte diese mächtigen Tiere ewig beobachten, der Anblick macht demütig und entspannt einen irgendwie. Aber noch haben wir unsere Mission nicht erfüllt. Wo ist der Bär, verdammt nochmal? Viele Bisons, Elche, Pronghorns, Pelikane, Adler und Geysire später stoßen wir plötzlich auf einen Menschenauflauf. Natürlich halten auch wir sofort am Straßenrand und befragen die Leute, was denn los sei.

Wir vermuten schon, dass es sich nicht um ein Bison handelt, sondern vielmehr um einen… Bären!!!!! Aber nicht der kleine Schwarzbär – nein, ein großer Grizzly!!! :-) Der anwesende Ranger erklärt, dass dieser von einem Wolfsrudel im Wald vertrieben wurde und deshalb auf das darunterliegende Feld gelaufen ist. Was ein Glück! Aber wo ist er nun? Okay, mit freiem Auge konnte man nur einen kleinen braunen Punkt ausmachen, der sich hin und her bewegt, aber manche Besucher waren mit Spezial-Fernrohren ausgestattet, mit dem du wirklich die einzelnen Bären-Haare sehen konntest. Eine nette, face-geliftete Familie aus L.A. hat uns sofort angeboten ihr Fernrohr zu benutzen und so konnten wir ihm tatsächlich in die Augen blicken: ein abgefahrenes Gefühl, einen wilden Grizzly in freier Wildbahn zu sehen! Etwa eine Stunde lang haben wir den Moment voll ausgekostet und sind dann in höchster Zufriedenheit wieder Richtung Camp aufgebrochen.

thumb_P8171346_1024

Mehr ging nicht. Wir haben alles gesehen, was wir sehen wollten und so haben wir nach insgesamt drei Tagen im Yellowstone Nationalpark, der wirklich wärmstens zu empfehlen ist, unseren Roadtrip um ein atemberaubendes Naturspektakel erweitert.

thumb_P8161256_1024

thumb_P8161279_1024

thumb_P8161261_1024

thumb_P8161246_1024

thumb_P8161119_1024

Und jetzt geht’s wieder zurück Richtung Westküste. Next stop: San Francisco!!!